About the Schengen Visa

What is a Schengen visa?
A Schengen visa gets its name from a small town in Luxembourg where a treaty was signed in 1995 to end internal border checkpoints and controls.
With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. This type of visa only applies to nationalities that would normally be required to obtain a visa prior to entering the countries listed below. US citizens in most cases do not need to apply for a Schengen visa.
Schengen Member Countries:
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
When traveling to multiple Schengen countries, which consulate is the visa applied through?
If you're traveling to multiple Schengen countries you should apply for a visa for the country in which you will stay the longest. If you do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa for the country that will be your first point of entry.
0 out of 0 found this helpful


1 comment
  • ***Future Update*** ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It is a completely electronic system which allows and keeps track of visitors from countries who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen Zone. The legal procedures to pass the ETIAS have started in 2016, and the system is expected to be in place by 2020.

    The ETIAS will undergo a detailed security check of each applicant to determine whether they can be allowed to enter any Schengen Zone country. Since citizens of countries who do not need a visa for travel purposes of up to 90 days in the EU do not need to go through a long process of applying for the visa, the ETIAS will make sure that these people are not a security threat. This travel authorization system will gather, keep track of, and update necessary information regarding visitors to determine whether it is safe for them to enter Schengen countries.

    The ETIAS, besides being used for business and tourist purposes, will also allow people to visit the Schengen countries for medical and transit reasons. In addition, it will be mandatory for all countries who are Schengen visa-free.

    ETIAS will apply to visa-free non-EU citizens.

    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.