What is a Schengen visa?


A Schengen visa gets its name from a small town in Luxembourg where a treaty was signed in 1995 to end internal border checkpoints and controls. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. This type of visa only applies to nationalities that would normally be required to obtain a visa prior to entering the countries listed below. US citizens in most cases do not need to apply for a Schengen visa.


Schengen Member Countries

Austria  Belgium Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
Finland France Germany Greece Hungary
Iceland Italy Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg
Malta The Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland


Published March 2017  Peninsula Visa Inc

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful


Article is closed for comments.